+ Home
+ I*M Europe
+ Telematics
+ What's new
+ News
+ Events
+ Reports
+ Indexes
+ Site map
+ FAQ
+ About this site
+ Search
+ Feedback
LE Language Engineering
DE, EN, FR

Welcome to the homepage of the Language Engineering sector of the Telematics Applications Programme within the Fourth Framework. The aim of Language Engineering is to facilitate the use of telematics applications and to increase the possibilities for communication in and between European languages. RTD work focuses on pilot projects that integrate language technologies into information and communications applications and services. A key objective is to improve their ease of use and functionality and broaden their scope across different languages. 


+ What's New, News & Events
What's newNews from the LE sector and around the world, including events and exhibitions of LE applications and services, and market snippets.

+ Indexes & Guides
To help you find your way around this site, a map and indexes of projects,keywords and organisations participating in projects. There is also a guide to who's who in LE.

+ About Language Engineering
If you are unfamiliar with LE, you can read about the elements of language technology, its role in the information age and for you as a citizen. You can also learn how language technology is harnessing the power of language and the state of the art. The development of the LE sector under the 3rd and 4th frameworks is outlined in a shorthistory.

+ How to Participate
The 4th Language Engineering call for proposals was closed on 15/4/97.Information on this call is now available. Further information will be made available shortly. Whilst there is no current call for project proposals, there are a range ofother opportunities to participate, including a discussion of the role of human language technologies in the developing information society and within the 5th Framework Programme.

+ Research & Development
Ongoing RTD projects address a range of market opportunities;telebusinesspublic interest supporteducation and training,information services and international business support.

+ Resource Development
Language resources are an essential component of language enabled systems.Resource development projects within the sector work to develop terminology, corpora and lexicons, speech databases, semantic networks and the tools and documentation to use them.

+ Standardisation & Testing
To maintain a stable but evolving base for LE resources, applications and services, standardisation projects and actions build concensus and develop guidelines, tools and standards. An extensive network of companies, research centres, universities and professional bodies are collaborating as EAGLES, the advisory group on standards.

+ Infrastructure & Support
The sector's infrastructure is based on the work of, ELRA, the clearing house for language resources, EUROMAP, assessing supply and demand for LE and identifying new opportunities, and finally LINGLINK, promoting and supporting work within the sector.

+ Commission Documentation
Documentation on past calls for project proposals, the LE sector'sprogramme of work, a brief activity report for 1994-95, an in-depth review of progress and prospects (1995-7), and other European Union papers and reports.

+ Reports, Surveys, Products & Market
Commissioned reports, topical papers, and surveys related to LE. Additional information can be found on related sites.


For more information about the Language Engineering Sector use the Feedback and Queries entry form or contact:

    European Commission, DG XIII-E5, Office EUFO 0-176, Rue Alcide de Gasperi, Plateau du Kirchberg, L-2920 Luxembourg
    Fax: +352 4301 34999 Tel: +352 4301 32886
    Email: lepostmaster@lux.dg13.cec.be


Home - Gate - Back - Top - Lehome - Relevant

+ Accueil
+ I*M Europe
+ Télématique
+ Quoi de neuf?
+ Nouveautés
+ Evènements
+ Rapports
+ Index
+ Plan du site
+ Questions Fréquentes
+ Apropos du site
+ Recherche
+ Questionnaires
LE Ing&eacutenierie Linguistique
DE, EN, FR

Bienvenue sur la page d'accueil du secteur Ingénierie Linguistique du Programme d'Applications Télématiques au sein du Quatrième Programme Cadre.

Le but de l'Ingénierie Linguistique est de faciliter l'utilisation d'applications télématiques et d'augmenter les possibilités de communication entre langues européennes. Les travaux de Recherche et Développement Technologique se concentrent sur des projets pilotes intégrant les technologies du langage dans les applications et services d'information et de communication. Un des objectifs-clés est d'améliorer leur facilité d'utilisation et leur fonctionnalité, ainsi que d'élargir leur horizon à différents autres langages. 


+ Nouveautés, Nouvelles et Evènements
NouveautésNouvelles de l'Ingénierie Linguistique, incluant les évènements et manifestations des applications et services du secteur, ainsi que lesmarchés concernés.

+ Index et guides
Un plan du site et un index des projetsmots-clés et organisationsimpliquées dans un ou plusieurs projets vous guident à travers notre site. Il existe aussi un guide du who's who pour le secteur.

+ A propos de l'Ingénierie Linguistique
Si vous n'êtes pas un familier de l'Ingénierie Linguistique, vous pouvez découvrir les éléments de la technologie du langage, son rôle à l'âge de l'information, et ce que vous pouvez en retirer en tant que citoyen. Vous pouvez aussi découvrir comment la technologie linguistique peut maîtriser le pouvoir du langage, ainsi que le niveau actuel de la technique. Le développement du secteur 'Ingéierie Linguistique' durant les 3ème et 4ème programmes-cadres est relaté dans ce court historique.

+ Comment Participer
Le 4ème appel à soumissionner les propositions de projects du secteur 'Ingénierie Linguistique' a pris fin le 15/4/97. Les informations s'y rattachantsome maintenant disponibles. D'autres renseignements seront publies sous peu. En-dehors des périodes d'appel à soumissionner les propositions de projects, il existe certain autres opportunités pour participer, parmi lesquelles une discussion sur le rôle des technologies du langage humain dans la socièté d'information en developpement et dans le 5ème programme cadre.

+ Recherche et Developpement
Les projets de recherche et developpement technologique actuellement en cours concernent un vaste évantail d'opportunités sur le marchétélébusinesssoutien aux intérêts publicséducation et formationservices d'information et soutien aux affaires internationales.

+ Développement des ressources
Les resources du langage sont un élément essentiel des systèmes intégrant une fonction de langage. Les projects de développement des ressources du secteur travaillent sur le développement de terminologies, corpora et lexiques, bases de données linguistiques, réseaux sémantiques et des outils et documents servant à leur utilisation.

+ Standardisation et Evaluation
Pour garder une base stable mais progressive pour les resources d'Ingénierie Linguistique, les applications et les services, les projects et actions de standardisation travaillent au consensus et developpent notices, outils et standards. Un important réseau de sociétés, centres de recherche, universités et corps professionnels, comme pour EAGLES, le groupe de conseil sur les standards.

+ Infrastructure et support
L'infrastructure du secteur est basée sur les travaux de ELRA, le centre des resources linguistiques, EUROMAP, qui estime l'offre et la demande pour l'ingénierie Linguistique, identifie les nouvelles opportunités,et enfinLINGLINK, qui soutien et promouvoit les travaux réalisés dans le secteur.

+ Documentation de la Commission
Documentation sur les appels à soumissioner les propositions de projets, leprogramme de travail du secteur Ingénierie Linguistique, rapport d'activité succint pour 1994-95, bilan détaillé des progrè et perspectives, et autres articles et rapports de l'Union Européenne.

+ Rapports, sondages, produits et marché
Rapports de la Commission, articles et sondages ayant un lien avec l'Ingénierie Linguistique. Pour des informations supplémentaires, visitez les sites apparentés.


Pour plus d'informations sur le secteur Ingénierie Linguistique, utiliser le questionnaire ou contactez:

    Commission Européenne, DG XIII-E5, Office EUFO 0-176, Rue Alcide de Gasperi, Plateau du Kirchberg, L-2920 Luxembourg
    Fax: +352 4301 34999 Tel: +352 4301 32886
    Email: lepostmaster@lux.dg13.cec.be


Home - Gate - Back - Top - Lehome - Relevant