info2000 logo GREEN PAPER ON PUBLIC SECTOR INFORMATION IN THE INFORMATION SOCIETY
back to i*m europe

back to info2000

navigation graphic

Chapter II : The Information Society and the public sector

The discussion on public sector information should be seen in the context of the emerging Information Society. The new Information and Communication Technologies are quickly changing the ways public sector bodies operate. which makes a timely debate on public sector information all the more important.

II.1 Electronic Government

The emerging Information Society, largely driven by an ever increasing and pervasive use of information and communication technologies is more and more affecting the public sector. Administrations follow the example of the private sector and benefit from the enormous potential of these technologies to improve their efficiency. This development is often labelled ‘Electronic Government’ and covers both the internal and external application of Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) in the public sector.

The importance of this development is increasingly acknowledged in many countries around the world. In Europe experiments are being conducted at all levels of government - local, regional, national and European - to improve the functioning of public services concerned and to extend their interaction with the outside world.

Indeed, the use of Information and Communication Technologies does not only smoothen public administration internal operations, but also strongly supports the communication between different administrations as well as the interaction with citizens and businesses. This is one of the key elements of ‘Electronic Government’: it brings public sector bodies closer to citizens and businesses and leads to better public sector services. At EU level programs like IDA and the actions within Framework Programme V for R&D addressing Administrations enhance the progress in this field.

Electronic government services can generally be distinguished according to the three main functions they serve.

Information services to retrieve sorted and classified information on demand (e.g. WWW sites).

Communication services to interact with individuals (private or corporate) or groups of people (e.g. via e-mail or discussion fora).

Transaction services to acquire products or services on line or to submit data (e.g. government forms, voting).

Table 1 gives an overview of possible services and their application areas.

Table 1 - A typology of Electronic Government services

 


Information services Communication services Transaction services
Everyday life Information on work, housing, education, health, culture, transport, environment, etc. Discussion for a dedicated to questions of everyday life ;

Jobs or housing bulletin boards

e.g. ticket reservation, course registration
Tele-administration Public service directory

Guide to administrative procedures

Public registers and databases

e-mail contact with public servants electronic submission of forms
Political participation Laws, parliamentary papers, political programmes, consultation documents

Background information in decision making processes

Discussion for a dedicated to political issues

e-mail contact with politicians

referenda

elections

opinion polls petitions

Source: Institute of Technology Assessment, Austrian Academy of Sciences and Centre for Social, Background Paper to "the Information Society, Bringing Administration Closer to the Citizens Conference", November 1998 (organised by the Centre for Social Innovation on behalf of the Information Society Forum/Work Group 5/Public Administration).

Transaction services are generally seen as the future of electronic government, since forms have a key role in all administrative processes. In a recent German Delphi study, transaction services were regarded by the experts interviewed to become reality in the next ten years. It is estimated that in the US already 40 percent of all forms of the public administration are available electronically. This way of dealing with government can considerably lower the administrative burden for citizens and businesses alike.

The TESS (Telematics for Social Security) project, funded under the IDA programme, aims at simplifying and accelerating administrative procedures in order to ensure citizen’s access to their rightful social security benefits. The objective is to replace paper forms for information provision by electronic exchange. The two major areas currently addressed by TESS are old age pensions (to ensure that migrant workers get the pensions due to them) and to facilitate reimbursement of sickness benefits in kind (in case the Member State where the benefit in kind was advanced is different to that where the person is insured).

Reengineering public services may require substantial investments by government bodies at all levels as well as a change in culture. However the results are worth it. ‘Electronic government’ leads to a public service that performs better and is closer to the citizens.

The EU is itself involved in considerable reengineering efforts to benefit from the possibilities offered by ‘electronic government’. Transactions with and information to citizens will have an ever increasing ‘electronic’ character. One example: before long the Commission will be able to handle electronic project proposals within the Fifth Framework Programme for Research and Development. Legal barriers at EU level have to be solved to turn these transactions into reality.

One aspect of Electronic Government that is often forgotten is its potential impact on the information market. By applying new technologies and innovative concepts, public authorities at all levels of government can have arole as a driver of the Information Society. The Report on job opportunities in the Information Society 17presented to the Vienna European Council of December 1998 has once more stressed this role of governments. Their example as a leading edge customer will convince citizens and businesses to adopt new technologies themselves and will invite the ICT-industries to explore new pathways.

II.2 Electronic Government and public sector information

The use of new technologies can considerably increase the efficiency of the collection of information. It gives public bodies the possibility to share available information when this is in conformity with data protection rules, rather than duplicating its collection from citizens and businesses. This can notably reduce the administrative burden on citizens and business, and in particular SMEs.

At the same time, sharing information leads to better informed public bodies, that have access to all data relevant for their functioning. In the EU context, more and more information is exchanged between Member States in areas like customs, agriculture, environment, health, statistics, etc.

The ‘electronic revolution’ also has a major impact on the accessibility and dissemination of information. The Internet has a huge potential as a platform where citizens and business can easily find public sector information. All Member States in the EU are taking advantage of this potential.

As part of their dissemination policies, the EU-institutions increasingly use the possibilities offered by the Internet. They maintain a family of web sites offering a large amount of information on the EU and its activities.

More and more people find their way to these web sites, which is shown by the following example: In September 1998 almost 7 million of Commission documents were consulted electronically, more than double the number of consultations of September 1997.

The new technologies will also allow the provision of information and services in a more integrated form. Such integration is especially desirable where a specific information need necessitates contacts with a number of different administrative bodies. This objective goes under the name of "one stop service" or "one stop shopping". The europa.eu.int website forms a single access point for information on all EU institutions.

The digitisation of public sector information facilitates not only access, but also possibilities for its exploitation. A better access to information together with its digital format makes it easier to combine data from different sources. This will allow for the creation of new information products that have public sector information as their raw material.

The digitisation process makes the differences that exist between public sector bodies in Europe in terms of access and exploitation of public sector information more visible and more relevant. These differences create barriers to the full use of the opportunities offered by the new technologies and make a debate on public sector information at European level all the more necessary.

II.3 Electronic access for all?

Our societies are moving towards a situation where everyone has access to the new electronic tools. The penetration of Internet is happening at a much faster pace than the penetration of other information tools like the telephone or television earlier this century. Nevertheless it will take time until a generalised access is realised.

Dissemination of public sector information on the Internet does not automatically imply that all citizens have an equal access to it. Substantial differences exist in access to the tools of the Information Society (computers/modems etc.) and the ability to use them. In this context the Report on job opportunities in the Information Society 18 stresses that the access to such tools and the skills to use them are prerequisites for job creation and need to be prioritised.

This observation points to the need of investing in infrastructures that provide access for all to the electronic networks. Libraries seem to be particularly fit to fulfil this public role, but other possibilities should also be explored.

Infocid
In Portugal a network of ‘Cyber-kiosks’ has been installed throughout the country to give citizens access to the Internet and in particular to information on the public sector. The global, integrated multimedia Infocid system, gives access to government information on a wide range of subjects like employment and training, education, the Law and Courts, housing etc.
http://www.infocid.pt/

In addition this point stresses the importance of investment in Information and Communication Technology-skills. Lacking investment may lead to a society fundamentally split between people that can and people that cannot use the new information tools. Several projects at European level already address this problem, tackling it at the base.

EUN - The European Schoolnet
The aim of the project, funded by the Task Force "Educational Multimedia" and coordinated by the SOCRATES programme, is to establish a European school information network – the European Schoolnet – as a multimedia and communication platform at the services to schools in Europe and as a framework for collaboration at a European level among national educational authorities, universities and industry to develop ICT in schools as regards content, pedagogical approaches and technology.
http://www.eun.org/

Improved skills will in the long run also lead to a better use of public sector information. More informed, computer-literate citizens and businesses will ask for more and better information and will act as an incentive for the public sector to provide better information services and for the information industry to create more value-added information products and services.

Previous ¦ Table of contents ¦ Next

Home - Gate - Back - Top - Chapter2 - Relevant

info2000 logo GRÜNBUCH ÜBER DIE INFORMATIONEN DES ÖFFENTLICHEN SEKTORS IN DER INFORMATIONSGESELLSCHAFT
back to i*m europe

back to info2000

navigation graphic

Kapitel II: Informationsgesellschaft und öffentlicher Sektor

Die Diskussion über die Informationen des öffentlichen Sektors muß vor dem Hintergrund des Wandels zur Informationsgesellschaftgesehen werden. Die neuen Informations- und Kommunikationstechniken verändern die Arbeitsweise der Behörden so schnell, daß eine Erörterung des Themas Informationen des öffentlichen Sektors jetzt immer wichtiger wird.

II.1 Elektronische Verwaltungsdienstleistungen (Electronic Government)

Der Wandel zur Informationsgesellschaft, der durch die immer intensivere Nutzung von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik (IKT) vorangetrieben wird, wirkt sich zunehmend auch im öffentlichen Sektor aus. Behörden folgen dem Beispiel der Privatwirtschaft und machen sich das umfassende IKT-Potential zunutze, um ihre Effizienz zu steigern. Für diese Entwicklung wird häufig der Begriff "Electronic Government" verwendet; er beinhaltet die Anwendung von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik im öffentlichen Sektor, und zwar sowohl intern als auch im Geschäftsverkehr mit dem Bürger.

In vielen Ländern der Welt wird man sich der Bedeutung dieser Entwicklung immer stärker bewußt. In Europa hat man auf allen Ebenen der öffentlichen Verwaltung, d. h. auf kommunaler, regionaler, nationaler und europäischer Ebene, Vorhaben in Gang gesetzt, um die Dienstleistungen für die Allgemeinheit zu verbessern und das Zusammenwirken mit der Außenwelt zu intensivieren.

Der Einsatz von IKT erlaubt nicht nur ein reibungsloseres Arbeiten innerhalb der Behörden, er fördert auch die Kommunikation zwischen Behörden sowie die Interaktion zwischen Behörden auf der einen und Bürgern und Unternehmen auf der anderen Seite. Das ist ein Schlüsselfaktor von "Electronic Government": Es bringt die Einrichtungen des öffentlichen Sektors näher zu Bürgern und Wirtschaft und optimiert die Leistungen des öffentlichen Sektors. Auf EU-Ebene werden die Fortschritte auf diesem Gebiet durch Programme wie IDA und Aktionen unter dem Fünften Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und technologische Entwicklung gefördert.

Die elektronischen Verwaltungsdienstleistungen lassen sich von der Funktion her generell in drei Hauptgruppen aufgliedern:

Informationsdienste, bei denen thematisch geordnete und klassifizierte Informationen abgerufen werden können (zum Beispiel Internet-Sites).

Kommunikationsdienste für die Interaktion mit Einzelpersonen, Firmen oder Gruppen (z. B. per E-mail oder in Diskussionsforen).

Transaktionsdienste für den Online-Erwerb von Waren oder Dienstleistungen oder die Übermittlung von Daten (z. B. Einreichung amtlicher Formulare, Stimmabgabe bei Wahlen).

Tabelle 1 gibt einen Überblick über in Betracht kommende Leistungen und ihre Anwendungsgebiete.

Tabelle 1: Typologie elektronischer Verwaltungsdienstleistungen

 


Informationsdienste Kommunikationsdienste Transaktionsdienste
Alltagsleben Informationen zu den Bereichen Arbeit, Wohnen, Bildung, Gesundheit, Kultur, Verkehr, Umwelt usw. Diskussionsforen zu Alltagsfragen z.B. Kartenreservierung, Kursanmeldung
Tele-Verwaltung Verzeichnis des öffentlichen Dienstes

Leitfaden für Verwaltungsverfahren

Öffentliche Register und Datenbanken

E-mail-Verbindung zu Behördenmitarbeitern Elektronische Vorlage von Formularen
Mitwirkung anpolitischenEntscheidungen Gesetze, Vorlagen des Parlaments, politische Programme, Sondierungspapiere

Hintergrundinformationen zu Entscheidungsprozessen

Diskussionsforen zu politischen Fragen

E-mail-Verbindungen zu Politikern

Volksabstimmungen

Wahlen

Meinungsumfragen

Quelle: Institut für Technologiebewertung, Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften und Zentrum für soziale Innovation,Hintergrundpapier der Konferenz zum Thema "Moving Public Administration Closer to the Citizens ?" vom November 1998(veranstaltet vom Zentrum für Soziale Innovation im Auftrag des Forums für die Informationsgesellschaft/Arbeitsgruppe/öffentliche Verwaltung).

Transaktionsdienste gelten allgemein als die Zukunft des Electronic Government, da Formularen bei allen Verwaltungsabläufen eine Schlüsselrolle zufällt. In einer kürzlich in Deutschland durchgeführten Delphi-Studie äußerten Experten die Meinung, Transaktionsdienste würden innerhalb der nächsten zehn Jahre Wirklichkeit. In den USA liegen schätzungsweise 40 % aller amtlichen Formulare bereits elektronisch vor. Diese Form des Geschäftsverkehrs mit der Verwaltung kann den Aufwand für Bürger und Unternehmen gleichermaßen verringern.

Das Projekt TESS (Telematics for Social Security) wird aus dem Programm IDA finanziert; Projektziel ist die Vereinfachung und Beschleunigung der Verwaltungsverfahren, damit die Bürger schneller die ihnen zustehenden Sozialversicherungsleistungenerhalten. Die Informationsbereitstellung soll nicht länger auf Papier, sondern auf elektronischem Weg erfolgen. TESS betrifft derzeit zwei große Bereiche: Ruhegehälter (damit Wanderarbeitnehmer die ihnen zustehenden Zahlungen erhalten) und leichtereKostenerstattung bei Sachleistungen aus der Krankenversicherung (wenn diese in einem Mitgliedstaat erbracht werden, die jeweilige Person jedoch in einem anderen versichert ist).

Das Umgestalten von Verwaltungsdienstleistungen erfordert unter Umständen beträchtliche staatliche Investitionen auf allen Ebenen und eine Änderung der Verwaltungskultur. Der Aufwand ist allerdings lohnend, denn das Ergebnis der Einführung des "Electronic Government" ist eine leistungsfähigere, bürgernähere öffentliche Verwaltung.

Auch die EU-Institutionen führen gegenwärtig umfassende Umstellungsprojekte durch, um die Möglichkeiten des "Electronic Government" nutzen zu können. Die Information des Bürgers und die Transaktionen zwischen Bürger und Institutionen werden mehr und mehr auf elektronischem Wege erfolgen. Ein Beispiel: Unter dem Fünften Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und technologische Entwicklung wird es in Kürze möglich sein, Projektvorschläge elektronisch einzureichen. Damit das Wirklichkeit wird, müssen noch einige rechtliche Hindernisse auf EU-Ebene beseitigt werden.

Ein Faktor, der beim "Electronic Government" häufig vergessen wird, sind die möglichen Auswirkungen auf den Informationsmarkt. Durch die Anwendung neuer Technologien und innovativer Konzepte können Behörden aller Ebenen die Informationsgesellschaft voranbringen. Wenn sie die neuen Technologien einsetzen, wird dies Bürger und Unternehmen veranlassen, ihrem Beispiel zu folgen, und die IKT-Industrie zu neuen Entwicklungen anregen. Der Bericht über Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten in der Informationsgesellschaft 17 , der dem Europäischen Rat in Wien im Dezember 1998 vorgelegt wurde, hat einmal mehr diese Aufgabe der Regierungen betont.

II.2 "Electronic Government" und Informationen des öffentlichen Sektors

Mit Hilfe der neuen Technologien läßt sich die Effizienz der Informationssammlung beträchtlich steigern. Die öffentlichen Einrichtungen erhalten die Möglichkeit, die verfügbaren Daten - soweit mit dem Datenschutz vereinbar - gemeinsam zu nutzen, so daß die Daten nicht länger mehrfach bei Bürgern und Unternehmen erhoben werden müssen. Das verringert den Verwaltungsaufwand von Bürgern und Unternehmen, insbesondere von mittelständischen Firmen, beträchtlich.

Gleichzeitig führt die gemeinsame Nutzung von Informationen dazu, daß öffentliche Einrichtungen besser informiert sind und Zugang zu allen Daten haben, die sie für ihre Arbeit brauchen. Innerhalb der EU werden immer mehr Daten zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten ausgetauscht: auf den Gebieten Zoll, Landwirtschaft, Umwelt, Gesundheit, Statistik u. a.

Die "digitale Revolution" hat auch großen Einfluß auf die Zugänglichkeit und Verbreitung von Informationen. Das Internet bietet umfassende Möglichkeiten für einen problemlosen Zugriff von Bürgern und Unternehmen auf Datenbestände des öffentlichen Sektors. Dieses Potential wird von allen EU-Mitgliedstaaten genutzt.

Die zunehmende Bereitstellung von Daten im Internet ist Teil der Informationspolitik der EU-Institutionen. Sie verfügen über eine Reihe von Websites, über die eine Fülle von Informationen über die EU und ihre Arbeit angeboten wird.

Die Websites werden immer intensiver abgefragt. So wurden im September 1998 nahezu 7 Millionen Kommissionsdokumente auf diesem Weg eingesehen, mehr als doppelt soviel wie noch ein Jahr zuvor.

Die neuen Technologien werden es auch ermöglichen, die Bereitstellung von Informationen und Dienstleistungen stärker zu integrieren. Das ist insbesondere dann von Vorteil, wenn zur Erlangung einer bestimmten Information mehrere Verwaltungsstellen kontaktiert werden müssen. Hier gilt es, einen "One-Stop-Shop", also eine zentrale Anlaufstelle, einzurichten. Die Website europa.eu. ist ein solcher zentraler Zugangspunkt für Informationen über sämtliche EU-Institutionen.

Die elektronische Aufbereitung von Informationen des öffentlichen Sektors erleichtert nicht nur den Datenzugriff, sie verbessert auch deren Verwertungsmöglichkeiten. Ein besserer Zugang zu Informationen und die Bereitstellung von Daten in digitaler Form erleichtert die Verknüpfung von Daten aus unterschiedlichen Quellen. So können mit Informationen des öffentlichen Sektors als Rohstoff neue Informationsprodukte entstehen.

Der Digitalisierungsprozeß führt dazu, daß die Unterschiede zwischen einzelnen Einrichtungen des öffentlichen Sektors in Europa deutlicher zutage treten und an Bedeutung gewinnen. Sie hemmen die Ausschöpfung des von den neuen Technologien gebotenen Potentials und machen eine Diskussion über die Informationen des öffentlichen Sektors auf europäischer Ebene um so dringlicher.

II.3 Elektronischer Zugriff für alle?

In unserer heutigen Gesellschaft geht die Entwicklung dahin, daß jedermann Zugang zu den neuen elektronischen Informationsmitteln hat. Das Internet setzt sich sehr viel schneller durch als z. B. Telefon oder Fernsehen vor 100 Jahren. Dennoch wird es einige Zeit dauern, bis das Medium für alle zugänglich ist. Wenn der öffentliche Sektor seine Informationen ins Internet stellt, bedeutet das nicht zwangsläufig, daß alle Bürger in gleichem Maße Zugang dazu haben. Es bestehen beträchtliche Unterschiede beim Zugang zu den Werkzeugen der Informationsgesellschaft (Computer, Modems usw.) und der Fähigkeit, diese zu nutzen.

In diesem Zusammenhang betont der Bericht über Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten in der Informationsgesellschaft 18 , daß der Zugang zu solchen Werkzeugen und die Fähigkeiten, diese zu nutzen, Vorbedingungen für die Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen sind und ihnen Vorrang eingeräumt werden muß.

Daher muß in Infrastrukturen investiert werden, die für jedermann Zugang zu elektronischen Netzen gewährleisten. Bibliotheken bieten sich hierfür ganz besonders an, aber es sollten auch andere Möglichkeiten ausgelotet werden.

Infocid
In Portugal ist ein landesweites Netz von "Cyber-kiosks" aufgebaut worden, das Bürgern den Zugang zum Internet ermöglicht, insbesondere zu Informationen über den öffentlichen Sektor. Das umfassende integrierte Multimedia-System ermöglicht den Zugriff auf Behördeninformationen zu den verschiedensten Themen: Beschäftigung, Aus- und Weiterbildung, Gesetze und Rechtsprechung, Wohnen usw. 
http://www.infocid.pt/

Hier wird deutlich, wie wichtig Investitionen zur Schaffung von Medienkompetenz sind. Versäumnisse in diesem Bereich können zu einer Spaltung der Gesellschaft führen: auf der einen Seite diejenigen, die die neuen Informationswerkzeuge benutzen können, auf der anderen Seite diejenigen, die hierzu nicht in der Lage sind. Auf europäischer Ebene bemüht man sich bereits im Rahmen mehrerer Projekte, dieses Problem an der Wurzel anzugehen.

EUN - European Schoolnet
Mit diesem von der Task Force "Multimediale Lernprogramme" geförderten und unter dem Sokrates-Programm koordinierten Projekt soll ein europäisches Informationsnetz für Schulen - das European Schoolnet – eingerichtet werden. Es soll den europäischen Schulen als Multimedia-Kommunikationsplattform dienen und den Rahmen bilden für die europaweite Zusammenarbeit von Bildungsbehörden, Hochschulen und Unternehmen der Mitgliedstaaten. Das Ziel ist die Entwicklung der IKT in den Schulen im Hinblick auf Inhalte, pädagogische Konzepte und Technologie.
http://www.eun.org/

Mehr Medienkompetenz wird langfristig auch zu einer besseren Nutzung der Informationen des öffentlichen Sektors führen. Informierte, im Umgang mit Computern versierte Bürger und Unternehmen werden mehr und bessere Information verlangen. Sie werden den öffentlichen Sektor veranlassen, anspruchsvollere Informationsdienste anzubieten, und die Informationsindustrie dazu anregen, mehr höherwertige Informationsprodukte und -dienste zu entwickeln.

Vorheriges Dokument ¦ Inhaltsverzeichnis ¦ Nächstes Dokument

Home - Gate - Back - Top - Gp-chapter2 - Relevant