Bonn Conference Logo
Conference Home
Ministerial Declaration
Industrial Declaration
User Declaration
Theme Paper
Download Theme Paper
DE       FR
List of Participants
Promoting Best Use, Preventing Misuse
Legal Advisory Board
Internet issues

Speeches delivered at the Bonn Conference

Monday, 7 July 1997

Official Opening

  • Günter Rexrodt, German Minister of Economics  (ENDE)
  • Martin Bangemann, Member of the European Commission (ENDE)
  • Mady Delvaux-Stehres, Minister of Communications, Luxembourg (FR)

FirstPlenary Session “Building Confidence”

  • Chair: John Battle, Minister for Science, Energy & Industry, United Kingdom (EN)
  • Annemarie Jorritsma-Lebbink, Minister of Transport, Public Works and Water Management, Netherlands : EU Achievements in Telecommunications (EN)
  • Roberto Rovera, Executive Vice-President, STET, Italy : The Role of  Telecommunication Operators (EN)
  • George Vradenburg III, Sr. VP, America Online (AOL), USA : Critical Factors to Establish Confidence in Global Information Networks (EN)
  • Klaus Mangold, President, Debis, Germany : Providing the Platform for Reliable Commerce (EN)
  • Wolfgang Bötsch, Minister for Post & Telecommunications Germany : Achievements in Liberalisation, Globally and in Germany (ENDE)
  • Franz Blankart State Secretary for Foreign Economic Affairs Switzerland : Enabling Participation By All (ENDE)
  • John Manley, Minister for Industry Canada : Building Confidence as a Pre-Condition for Electronic Commerce (ENFR)

Announced Contributors to the Discussion:

  • Rik Kaspersen, Chairman, Working Party on Crime in Cyberspace,  Council of Europe
  • Risaburo Nezu, Director, Science, Technology & Industry, OECD “Legal & Regulatory Framework / Consumer Protection Issues”

Second Plenary Session “Empowering the User ”

  • Chair: Christian Pierret, Secretary of State for Industry, France (DEFR)
  • David Kerr, Internet Watch Foundation UK : Filtering and Rating of Content (EN)
  • Linda Lennard, National Consumer Council UK : Consumer Protection (EN)
  • Andrea Camanzi, Vice-President, Corporate, Public and Regulatory Affairs Olivetti, Italy : The Users' Information Society (EN)
  • Jytte Hilden, Minister of Research and Information Technology Denmark : The Internet as a Vehicle for Human Rights (EN)
  • Jürgen Rüttgers, Minister of Education, Science, Research and Technology Germany : Legal Framework for Information & Communication Services; Education (DE)
  • Andrzej Zielinski, Minister for Post & Telecommunications Poland : Electronic Literacy (EN)
  • Hisao Horinouchi, Minister of Posts & Telecommunications Japan : Government Roles Towards the Development of the Cyber Society- Three Core Principles for Building theCyber Society (EN)

Announced Contributors to the Discussion:

  • Erika Mann, Member of the European Parliament
  • Meriel Bradford, Vice-President, Teleglobe Inc., Canada
  • Peter Harter, Global Public Policy Counsel, Netscape : "Data Protection"
  • Wim Van Velzen, Member of the European Parliament

Third Plenary Session “Making the Most of Content Resources”

  • Chair: Antonio Maccanico, Minister of Post and Telecommunications, Italy : The European Cultural Heritage in a Global Information Society (EN)
  • Thomas Middelhoff, Chairman of Executive Board Bertelsmann AG Germany : Developing Content and Commerce (EN)
  • Joël Poix, Infograme Entertainment France : Multimedia : Myth and Reality
  • Romain Bausch, Director General Société Européenne de Satellites SA Luxembourg : Broadcasting Issues
  • Caspar Einem, Minister for Science and Transport Austria : Public Sector Information (DE)
  • Edzard Schmidt-Jortzig, Minister for Justice Germany : Intellectual Property Rights (EN)
  • Charalampos Kastanidis, Minister for Transport and Communications Greece : Cultural and Linguistic Diversity

Announced Contributors to the Discussion:

  • Bendik Rugaas, Minister for Planning & Coordination, Norway : Cultural Networks (EN)
  • Stefano Rodotà, Italy

Tuesday, 8 July 1997

Fourth Plenary Session “Creating a Favourable Environment for Electronic Commerce”

  • Chair: Hans Wijers, Minister of Economic Affairs,Netherlands
  • William Daley, Secretary of Commerce United States : The Framework for Fostering Global Electronic Commerce (ENDE)
  • Mario Monti, EU Commissioner Internal Market : Electronic Commerce in Europe (EN)
  • Kohsei Ueno, State Secretary Ministry of International Trade and Industry Japan : Principles for Realising the “Digital Economy” (EN)
  • Ron Sommer, CEO, Deutsche Telekom Germany : Government Regulation versus Industry Self-Regulation (DE)
  • Bernard Vergnes, President Microsoft Europe : What Government can do to Promote Electronic Commerce (EN)
  • Claude Menesguen, GIE Carte Bancaire France : In Electronic Commerce, We Trust (EN)
  • Volker Jung, Vice President, Siemens AG Germany : The Evolution Towards the Global Information Network Infrastructure (DE)
  • Hans-Ulrich Maerki,General Manager, IBM Global Services IBM Europe, Middle East & Africa : Developing Trust in Electronic Commerce (EN)
  • Josep Pique i Camps, Minister for Industry & Energy Spain : Electronic Commerce and SME's. (DE)
  • Pier Luigi Bersani, Minister for Industry, Commerce & TourismItaly : Creating the Marketplace

Announced Contributors to the Discussion:

  • Michiro Naruto, Executive Vice-President Fujitsu, Japan
  • Elly Plooij-van Gorsel, Member of the European Parliament (EN)
  • Joanna Shelton, Deputy Secretary General, OECD : Overall Framework for Policy with respect to Global Electronic Commerce
  • Gérard Moine, Chairman of the Board France Télécom


  • Günter Rexrodt, German Minister of Economics (DE)



Home - Gate - Back - Top - Speeches - Relevant